The Doshas

If you like taking personality quizzes to find out something about you, then read on! We're going to skim the surface of what Doshas are but I'd love to do a one-on-one or small group session to teach you more about your Dosha and what that can mean for you.

Ayurveda is a Sanskirt word which means "science of life". In Ayurveda, the universal elements of air, fire, and water/earth combine to create the three governing forces known as Doshas: Vata (air/space), Pitta (fire), and Kapha (earth/water). The intention of Ayurveda is to bring the Dosha compositions into balance.

Dosha means "that which darkens, spoils, or causes things to decay". Don't worry, it's not a bad thing. What that means is when the Doshas are not in equilibrium then disease manifests within the body. This also means if you know more about your Dosha and can recognize when it's going out of balance you can do things to bring your Dosha back into balance.

Everyone has elements of each Dosha but typically one emerges as your primary Dosha. For me I am primarily Pitta but I have seen bits of Vata and Kapha manifest in my life and in my physical body. You can manage your Dosha and help keep balance in your life through yoga, Pranayama (breath) practices, and through eating the right foods.

Below is a quick overview of each dosha but if you want to learn more you can subscribe to the online Bodhi Yoga classes where you can learn more about the Doshas, find great yoga practices, and even learn a few Ayurveda recipes. You can join me in person for a free Dosha workshop during December 2016 to help me complete my Yoga Teacher Training certification hours. The workshop would include completing the Dosha quiz to identify your primary Dosha, learning about your primary Dosha, and looking for areas where your Dosha may be imbalanced and how you can supporting bringing balance back into your life.

Vata Dosha is the first Dosha to go out of balance but it often can rebalance pretty easily. Vatas tend to be really tall or really short and are often very thin with a narrow frame and small bones. Vatas are often fast speaking/thinking/moving. Vatas tend towards being cold regardless of the weather so you tend to see them with things that help ground them such as a blanket, scarf, or hot foods/drinks. Vatas tend to have very active upper chakras often making for a creative personality. The time of year that is ruled by Vata is fall into the dry winter months.

Pitta Dosha tends to be rock steady and often "what you see is what you get". Pitta tends to be equally proportioned with reasonably steady weight and a medium frame. Pitta often has strong musculature and strong stamina. (The workaholics of the world are likely in a Pitta imbalance. Yep, been there, done that.) Pittas tend to be focused, energetic, and intense. Pitta tends to be hot and do best in cooler environments. Pittas tend to have very active solar and sacral chakras. The time of year ruled by Pitta is late spring into summer.

Kapha Dosha is the last to go out of balance but also takes the longest to get back into balance. Kapha tends to be stocky with the potential for excess weight. Kapha is often slow speaking and moving but is consistent, loyal, and dedicated. Kapha needs warmth and dryness to remain in balance. Kaphas tend to have very active lower chakras. The time of year ruled by Kapha is the wet winter into early spring.

We have just scratched the surface of Dosha's are and how they manifest in your life. What Dosha do you think you are? Would you be interested in attending a class to identify which Dosha is yours and how that applies to your life?


Popular posts from this blog

The Little Things

Throwback Thursday - A Piece of Me

Motovated Monday - Kid President Part 2